WEEK 12: Artist Conversation- Christopher Linquata

image3In the Max L. Gatov Gallery west, Christopher Linquata work was displayed throughout the exhibit. Sadly the other artist, Mike Kent, who was sharing the gallery space wasn’t there. You could see the stories the paints were trying to tell through the colors and figures. They looked very realistic and relatable.

His paintings involved a lot of people. The graffiti was very interesting because it was like looking at art within art. He used lots of  realistic colors.He used acrylic paint because it dries faster that oil.  His paintings look like a movie on pause mode. It was very interesting to see how he painted himself within the paintings. I feel like the artist painted himself in the paintings because it would add meaning to his art and representation of who he is.

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 9.48.54 PMHe is 38 years old and is majoring in representational drawing and painting. He is currently finishing his last semester here in CSULB. WOHOO! His paintings have shown me how awesome it would be to have a paintings of moment in my life. Just by looking at his paintings you can tell how he worked hard on them. It tooled them about 10 months. Just by the first month I would have given up. I found it no surprise when he told us he painted a mural at the Cesar’s Palace in Las Vegas.

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 9.49.23 PMI really enjoyed looking at his paintings because they seemed so real. It felt like I could just jump into the painting and join those who were in the painting. The people in the paintings seem like they are having a good time and enjoying life. I will one day visit that place the artist painted called Sunken city. I think I have been there but I’m not sure if it’s the same place. I found it so special because he painted his wife and son. I feel like this adds even more value to his art. If only someone would paint me.

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 9.49.07 PMChris’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/icon5350/

Leave a Reply

